top of page
Blog: Blog2
  • sal5014

Week 3: Reflection on Sound Walk + Video Assignment

write a short reflection on what you learned, how you collaborated, and what you might do differently.


In general my group and I worked well together. We were all receptive to the others' ideas and I think many were incorporated in the final work. We all worked on all parts of the project. We all contributed to the concept, we all gathered sounds from different areas and we edited the sounds together.


This project really cemented for me the power of sound and music. When I was younger, I had a similar experience of realization when I was watching a horror movie with my family and my father, seeing that I was very scared and not enjoying it, told me to cover my ears and things wouldn't seem so scary anymore. He was right, the second I stopped hearing the ominous soundtrack the movie became harmless pictures, if grotesque ones. I think we often underestimate the power of the combination of our ability to hear and our imagination.


I also learned that, much like images in design, sounds have different meanings for everyone because we all come from different cultures and have different experiences and that when you take sounds out of their environment and context they become a little confusing.


I really enjoyed learning how to use Audition. It felt very similar to using After Effects so it was a great combination between comfort zone and learning experience.


If I had to do the project again I would take into account accessibility to people that have disabilities. I would not make the walk on the stairs and perhaps added some other tech component where you could have visuals related to the sounds. I would also try to have continuity with the sounds (especially the steps to mark the pace) throughout the piece.


Untitled:


STORYBOARD:

We want to create an infomercial about a sleeping service that focuses on removing the obstacles people have for sleeping. The service is called Bed Warmers and these are people who come when called and do all sorts of things to get you to sleep. They’ll lie in your bed to warm it, they’ll sing lullabies and remove noise sources, etc. This service is incredibly fast and effective. We want to make it as exaggerated and ridiculous as possible.








Link to Script:


41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page