top of page
Blog: Blog2
  • sal5014

Week 3 P.Comp Eureka?

I started by doing the reading and videos for this assignment. I admit that some were a little complicated and I didn't quite grasp all the concepts which is the opposite of what happened last week. That made me a little scared of the homework in general because I thought if the theory wasn't clear I wouldn't be able to do everything.


I continued by doing the labs which gave me more clarity to the topics at hand.



Many of them were very successful!! Which made me very happy and pushed me to go on. I think I'm proudest of the one where I made the LED brighter or dimmer with a potentiometer.



The ones related to sound weren't as successful but I made it work somewhat.




So I decided that my project would be again something that I would need or want. I usually have a problem of leaving change lying around and never using it or putting it in the bank. By change I mean like cents, dimes, nickels and quarters. My boyfriend jokes that if I were to collect all my change I'd be a rich woman.


I thought that if I had a fun way of collecting it in one place, I could put it al in the bank at once.


So I decided to use the motor in our kit as a swiper to push coins on a surface into a hole and down to a box to be collected using the force sensor as a switch:



And so at first I wanted to test if I could make the motor work:


AND IT DID!!


In order to attach it to the box however, I had to disconnect several cables and attempt to put it back together in the box and when I tried it again it wasn't working.


I'm not sure if something came loose (broke several cables in the breadboard in the process). I am now considering changing the switch to a simple button. If I make it work I'll update the blog. But as it is at this time (7:22 p.m. on Tuesday) I haven't been able to.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page